Walt McDonald

Walt McDonald was an Air Force pilot, taught at the Air Force Academy, and was Texas Poet Laureate for 2001. He has published nineteen collections of poems and a book of fiction, including Climbing the Divide (University of Notre Dame Press, 2003, forthcoming); All Occasions (Notre Dame, 2000); Whatever the Wind Delivers: Celebrating West Texas and the Near Southwest (Texas Tech, 1999); Blessings the Body Gave, and The Flying Dutchman (Ohio State, 1998, 1987); Counting Survivors (Pittsburgh, 1995); Night Landings (Harper & Row, 1989); and After the Noise of Saigon (Massachusetts, 1988). Walt retired in May 2002 as Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of English and Poet in Residence, Texas Tech University. Texas Tech University Press published The Waltz He Was Born For: An Introduction to the Writing of Walt McDonald, edited by Janice Whittington and Andrew Hudgins (2002).

EPR #5:
The Rockies, Tooth and Claw

In Spring, the Cedar Waxwings

EPR #3:
What God Felt Like when I Was Twelve
Hiking Grizzly Country with Bells



Copyright ©2003 Electronic Poetry Review